This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

California Rules

What do you need to buy ammunition in California?

In California, there are several rules for buying ammunition that include:

1.     Age Requirement: You must be at least 18 years old to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition, and at least 21 years old to purchase handgun ammunition.

2.     In-Person: Ammunition sales at stores and gun shows must be conducted in a face-to-face transaction by an FFL or licensed Ammunition Vendor and ammunition must be kept out of reach of the consumer and can only be accessed with the assistance of said vendor.

3.     Eligibility Check: Starting July 1, 2019, California law requires background checks for all ammunition purchases. The buyer must provide personal information such as their full name, date of birth, and address, and undergo a eligibility check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) Automated Firearms System (AFS) to ensure they are not prohibited from purchasing ammunition.

You will qualify with the Standard Eligibility Check if you have a California Driver’s License or Real ID and have purchased/transferred your handgun since 1996 or long gun since 2014.

NOTE: If your driver license or ID card has “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY” we will also need to see an additional form of identification. i.e. U.S. Passport or Passport Card, Certified copy of U.S. birth certificate, Certificate of Naturalization, U.S. Citizenship or Permanent Resident Card.

If you have moved since you registered your firearm you need to update your AFS record at the DOJ website: CFARS.DOJ.CA.GOV

4.     Ammunition Sales Record: All ammunition purchases are recorded and kept for five years by the ammunition vendor. The record must include the buyer’s name, address, and driver’s license or other identification number.

5.     Ammunition Quantity Limitations: There are no quantity limitations for purchasing ammunition in California, except for large-capacity magazines that are generally banned.

6.     Prohibited Persons: California law prohibits certain individuals from purchasing ammunition. These individuals include those who have been convicted of certain crimes, have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution, or are subject to a restraining order.

Call the shop if you have any questions: (424) 388-9613

Best Sellers

Welcome to our community! You get 2% cash back on all purchases, access to lightning deals and tons more!


Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are $200 away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase